Pakistan beat West Indies for T20 series win

DUBAI: Pakistan outclassed world champions the West Indies by 16 runs in the second Twenty20 match in Dubai on Saturday to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-game series.

Pakistan scored 160-4 in their 20 overs after they were sent in to bat with skipper Sarfraz Ahmed (46 not out), Khalid Latif (40) and Shoaib Malik (37) amongst the runs.

They then restricted the West Indies to 144-9 with left-arm paceman Sohail Tanvir taking 3-13, also completing 50 wickets in the shortest format. Medium pacer Hasan Ali grabbed 3-49.

Andre Fletcher made 29 while Sunil Narine top-scored with 30 for the West Indies.

Pakistan won the first match — also in Dubai — by nine wickets on Friday.

Both teams kept the same eleven from Friday’s first match which Pakistan won by nine wickets.

The third and final match will be played in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday.


Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), Khalid Latif, Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Babar Azam, Mohammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Sohail Tanvir

West Indies: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Evin Lewis,Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *