Pakistan send West Indies in to bat in first T20

DUBAI: Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and sent West Indies into bat in the first of three Twenty20 internationals in Dubai on Friday.

Pakistan rested Mohammad Amir from the side which beat England in the only Twenty20 in Manchester earlier this month, after the fast bowler joined the team late because of his wedding on Tuesday.

Amir’s place went to left-arm spinning all-rounder Mohammad Nawaz.

Middle-order batsman Umar Akmal also made a comeback after being overlooked for the England tour. He replaced Mohammad Rizwan from the Machester side.

West Indies gave a Twenty20 debut to wicket-keeper batsman Nicholas Pooran.

The second match will also be played in Dubai on Saturday while the third is in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday.



Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), Khalid Latif, Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Babar Azam, Mohammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Sohail Tanvir

West Indies

Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Evin Lewis, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *